Euros FAQs

How often is the competition?

The second most watched football tournament in the world, behind only the World Cup - is held every four years. Qualifiers take place in a group format, commencing in the autumn preceding the World Cup.

Has England ever won?

England’s latest performance was in the 2024 competition, finishing in second as the runners up.

Which teams played?

Group A: Germany, Scotland, Hungary, Switzerland Group B: Spain, Croatia, Italy, Albania Group C: Slovenia, Denmark, Serbia, England Group D: Poland, Netherlands, Austria, France Group E: Belgium, Slovakia, Romania, Ukraine Group F: Türkiye, Georgia, Portugal, Czechia

Who is the top scorer of all time?

The top goal scorer, which includes goals and qualifying, is Cristiano Ronaldo (playing for Portugal) with an impressive 45 goals. He also has the most final tournament goals, with 14. In a single final tournament, for France in 1984, Michel Platini scored the most goals, with nine.

History of Euros

From 1960 – 1996, winners included West Germany twice, Czechoslovakia, Spain, Italy and France.

Who won in 1996?

Germany became victorious in the 1996, with a final score of 2-1 against the Czech Republic.

Who won in 2000?

In the final of 2000, held at the Feijenoord Stadium in Rotterdam, France triumphed against Italy.

Who won in 2004?

Greece won 2004 after beating hosts Portugal 1-0 in Lisbon.

Who won in 2008?

In Vienna 2008 at the final, Spain ended the tournament victorious over Germany, in a 1-0 defeat.

Who won in 2012?

At the Olimpiyskiy in Kyiv, Spain defeated Italy 4-0 in the final.

Who won in 2016?

Portugal won 2016 in France, beating the hosts 1-0 at the Stade de France.

Who won in 2020?

Italy won battling it out against England. Italy won on penalties, securing the victory.

Who won in 2024?

Spain won against England in the 2024 competition, with a score of 2-1.

The latest Euros

The 2024 tournament was hosted by Germany and took place across 10 famous stadiums, making for an exciting tournament. The stadiums that hosted matches include: Olympiastadion Berlin, Cologne Stadium, BVB Stadion Dortmund, Düsseldorf Arena, Frankfurt Arena, Arena AufSchalke, Volksparkstadion Hamburg, Leipzig Stadium, Munich Football Arena and Stuttgart Arena. Olympiastadion Berlin is the largest stadium of the group, with a capacity of 71,000 - the other stadiums vary in size but were all perfect to host the Euros. The 2020 tournament was hosted in several different cities, including: Amsterdam, Baku, Bucharest, Budapest, Copenhagen, Glasgow, London, Munich, Rome, Saint Petersburg and Seville.